NuSphere Forums Forum Index
NuSphere Forums
Reply to topic
Timeout Error on Remote debuging XP pc to Linux/Apache


Joined: 22 Jun 2004
Posts: 10
Reply with quote
Hello,
I'm not able to debug remotely. When I use my pc's apache server to debug, it connects and works fine. When I change my project around to try and debug remotely, it fails with the 'Timeout Error' . But the timeout time is short, less than 10 seconds.
I've read over all the FAQs, and a few of the threads that were similar. I ran the same checks from the threads and here are my results:
(how can I tell if my remote web server had picked up the dbg.so modules?)

////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
FROM my Linux Apache server (php 4.3.6)

PHP.ini
; Directory in which the loadable extensions (modules) reside.
extension_dir = /usr/local/lib/php/extensions/current/
debugger.enabled=true
debugger_profiler.enabled = true
debugger.ports=7869, 10000/16
debugger.hosts_allow=my.pc.ip.address, 127.0.0.1,localhost
extension=dbg.so
; Directory in which the loadable extensions (modules) reside.
extension_dir = /usr/local/lib/php/extensions/current/



running netstat -a on pUTTY (looking at server)
no connections with debugger
(not sure what I should see)


from local pc xp pro (with phped open)
From project config on phped (xp pro)


MAPPING:
Run Mode HTTP mode [3rd Party web server]
Root URL mywebsite/cont
Remote root directory /usr/local/apache/htdocs

On my PC, using PUTTY to run my linux/apache server, and telnet back to my local pc with:
telnet my.ip.address 7869, I get a message
'connected to c-my-ip-address-client.comcast.net'
and on my pc using netstat -na, I get the line entry :
TCP my.comcast.pc.address my.web.address. ESTABLISHED
and on the debugger listner on my pc a new entry appears:
12/14/2004 7:50:31 AM my.web.site.ip.address client connected
12/14/2004 7:50:43 AM my.web.site.ip.address wrong client, disconnecting

On my pc, running IE set to the address of
http://mywebsite/cont/Report/reportDetail.php?DBGSESSID=1
It connects and displays the page (after logging in to a .htaccess protected file)
no error messages or no debugger
no pc listner log entry, or connection ??

////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
View user's profileFind all posts by flyboyutahSend private message
Site Admin

Joined: 13 Jul 2003
Posts: 8335
Reply with quote
After dbg is installed you have to restart Apache. SIGHUPing (reload) is not sufficient. Then check phpinfo() to make sure DBG is listed according to the FAQ instructions.
View user's profileFind all posts by dmitriSend private messageVisit poster's website


Joined: 22 Jun 2004
Posts: 10
Reply with quote
Ok, I will try and figure that out, I had thought using apachectl STOP and then Start would do it. I also compared my phpinfo from my pc with the server, and now I know what is missing. Any help on how to restart apache? It's a production server, so I'm hesitant to experiment.
View user's profileFind all posts by flyboyutahSend private message


Joined: 22 Jun 2004
Posts: 10
Reply with quote
I found out to use the cmd, apachectl restart.
Then I used php command, and an error message said it couldnt load the dbg.so module. I then replaced what the dbg.so module with dbg.so-4.3.4. Now when I run phpinfo, it says:

DBG php debugger, version 2.16.3, Copyright 2001, 2004 Dmitri Dmitrienko, http://www.nusphere.com/dbg

But I need version 2.16.4, right? Where can I get a copy?
View user's profileFind all posts by flyboyutahSend private message
Site Admin

Joined: 13 Jul 2003
Posts: 8335
Reply with quote
use the DBG version that came with phped.
If you need the most recent one, please upgrade to phped 3.3.3.
View user's profileFind all posts by dmitriSend private messageVisit poster's website
Timeout Error on Remote debuging XP pc to Linux/Apache
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT - 5 Hours  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Reply to topic