NuSphere Forums Forum Index
NuSphere Forums
Reply to topic
access denied


Joined: 13 Oct 2006
Posts: 14
Reply with quote
Hi,

I am having a similar error.

For some time I have been successfully running Apache as installed by 'xampp'.

A couple of months ago, I purchased PhpEd and have been very happy with it. However, since I was now using parts from two different 'systems' I wanted to install and use 'techplatform'.

I uninstalled the apache service installed by the xammp installation process.

I quit skype and turned off it starting with windows.

I made sure that port 443 was free and then I installed techplatform, selecting the 'start as a service' option.

on reboot i get the error:

Failed to start Apache
"C:\Program Files\nusphere\TechPlat\bin\apache.exe"

System error: Access is denied.


I have checked and this file does exist.

Any ideas?

(of course, the apache version installed by xampp no longer works now)

View user's profileFind all posts by BeerFizzSend private message
Site Admin

Joined: 13 Jul 2003
Posts: 7857
Reply with quote
please open Start->Run->Cmd
then enter
"C:\Program Files\nusphere\TechPlat\bin\apache.exe"
and check message returned.
BTW, by default it installs apache into C:\Program Files\nusphere\TechPlat\Apache\bin\
not into C:\Program Files\nusphere\TechPlat\bin\

_________________
The PHP IDE team
View user's profileFind all posts by dmitriSend private messageVisit poster's website


Joined: 13 Oct 2006
Posts: 14
Reply with quote
Dimitri,

I missed typed the path. Apache is installed in the default directory, which you would see if you looked at the attached image.

In a cmd console, I cd'd to the apache\bin directory and then ran apache.exe.

It complained of port 8443 being occupied. I checked on this and I have a HP JetDirect TCP/IP printer device on this port. Image attached.

So apparently, I have Skype on 443 (which I killed) and my JetDirect on this other port.

Is there a way to change the default Appache ports? Does it make sense to do this?

Thanks
Phil

View user's profileFind all posts by BeerFizzSend private message
Site Admin

Joined: 13 Jul 2003
Posts: 7857
Reply with quote
as far as I see there are two distinct problems:
port TCP/8443 is in use and log files are not available.

For the first problem you can just re-run setup and disable web dav or uncheck ssl option if you want to or specify another port value.
Alternatively you may adjust settings in setup.ini directly and run php.exe with "setup.php" in command line to have it processed the settings and generate new apache conf files.

Regarding logs, you need to make sure that corresponding directory is created and user account under which you start Apache has write permission to it.

_________________
The PHP IDE team
View user's profileFind all posts by dmitriSend private messageVisit poster's website


Joined: 13 Oct 2006
Posts: 14
Reply with quote
Dimitri,

I figured out to reassign the JetDirect port to 9443.

Having done that, Apache came up and ran.


However, with TechPlat installed and running, I realized that it uses php4. Unfortunately my app is written to use php5.

Can I install php5 over techplat or do you have a version which has php5? or how do I get around this?

Thanks
View user's profileFind all posts by BeerFizzSend private message
Site Admin

Joined: 13 Jul 2003
Posts: 7857
Reply with quote
I assume you have php5 installed as part of NuSphere PhpED in C:\Program Files\NuSphere\PhpED\php5.

Open C:\Program Files\NuSphere\TechPlat\apache\conf\httpd.conf in editor and proceed with steps below:
1) locate line below
Code:
LoadModule php4_module php/php4apache2.dll
and comment it out by placing # in the first position

2) locate line below
AddType application/x-httpd-php .php .php4
and replace .php4 with .php5 extension
and add two lines just below it:

Code:
ScriptAlias /php/ "C:/Program Files/NuSphere/PhpED/php5/"
Action application/x-httpd-php "/php/php-cgi.exe"


3) restart Apache

_________________
The PHP IDE team
View user's profileFind all posts by dmitriSend private messageVisit poster's website


Joined: 11 Sep 2005
Posts: 45
Reply with quote
Sure its free Smile But doesnt work for us. We thought we would help by reporting the problem.
View user's profileFind all posts by bendjSend private message
x64 platform problem on XP64, Vista 64


Joined: 30 May 2006
Posts: 35
Reply with quote
Hi guyzz,

I would like to share also my experience - if u are installing TechPlatform on x64 OS (WIN XP64, Vista 64), automatic installation configurator somehow fails, if you point installation directory into [Program Files (x86)]. This is because of parenthesis thing, many installers have problem with this. Then it also throws message [Access denied] - which is primarily due to invalid [ServerRoot] value.

Solution - simply install into historical directory [Program Files].

Cheers.
XL:-)
View user's profileFind all posts by lubosdzSend private message
Site Admin

Joined: 13 Jul 2003
Posts: 7857
Reply with quote
or properly escape parethesises in the Apache config?

_________________
The PHP IDE team
View user's profileFind all posts by dmitriSend private messageVisit poster's website
New install error: Problem starting apache due to ServerRoot


Joined: 28 Sep 2007
Posts: 1
Location: Austin, TX
Reply with quote
I'm receiving the following error after installing the NuSphere Technology Platform:

Failed to start Apache
"C:\Program Files\NuSphere\TechPlat\apache\bin\httpd.exe"

System error: Access is denied


When I attempt to run the httpd.exe file from the command line I receive the following error:

httpd.exe: Syntax error on line 42 of C:/Program Files/nusphere/TechPlat/apache/conf/httpd.conf:
ServerRoot must be a valid directory


Anyone have any advice to give me about what I can do to fix this issue?

Thanks!
View user's profileFind all posts by IsobelSend private message
Site Admin

Joined: 13 Jul 2003
Posts: 7857
Reply with quote
would you please submit there the content for 42nd line referred by the error message?

_________________
The PHP IDE team
View user's profileFind all posts by dmitriSend private messageVisit poster's website
New Install, error: Failed to start Apache...Access Denied
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT - 5 Hours  
Page 2 of 2  

  
  
 Reply to topic