NuSphere Forums Forum Index
NuSphere Forums
Reply to topic
major difficulties getting debugger to work


Joined: 08 Nov 2004
Posts: 5
Reply with quote
I am trying to do the 3rd party web server debugging and am having problems after spending quite a bit of time on the help. Here is what I have so far...

I am on XP and have IIS running.
In Settings -> IDE I have it set to HTTP mode (3rd party WEB server)
PHP DBG Listener is running
I have this in my php.ini
------------------------------
extension=php_dbg.dll-4.3.9
[debugger]
debugger.enabled=on
debugger.profiler_enabled=on
debugger.hosts_allow=10.162.178.195
debugger.hosts_deny=ALL
debugger.ports=7869, 10000/16
-------------------------------
Settings -> Debugger port is set to 7860
When I run the phpinfo function I do see:
-----------------------------------------
DBG php debugger, version 2.16.14, Copyright 2001, 2004 Dmitri
Dmitrienko, http://www.nusphere.com/dbg
-------------------------------------------
When I do CTRL-F9 the output tab does come up and it loads my page, but that is all it does. no debugging starts.


Last edited by alvintr on Mon Nov 15, 2004 5:42 pm; edited 4 times in total
View user's profileFind all posts by alvintrSend private message


Joined: 08 Nov 2004
Posts: 5
Reply with quote
i can't believe it. many hours later and I somehow got it to work.

though I know setting up debugging is a complicated matter, I do believe it could be made easier then what I had to go through. this is the main reason I would pay for something like PhpED. I would recommend better help. Like maybe seperate help files for Windows versus Linux.
View user's profileFind all posts by alvintrSend private message
Site Admin

Joined: 13 Jul 2003
Posts: 8342
Reply with quote
no doubts. Ctrl-F9 is not supposed to run debugger at all. It's F9 (namely Run With Debugger) intended.
Also, you have specified one port (7860) to be requested and did not make it allowed (allowed ports are 7869, 10000-10015). No doubts it won't work too.
Thanks for the recommendations... But where in the manual did you find Ctrl-F9 shortcut for running with debugger ?

TIA.
View user's profileFind all posts by dmitriSend private messageVisit poster's website


Joined: 08 Nov 2004
Posts: 5
Reply with quote
Quote:
Also, you have specified one port (7860) to be requested and did not make it allowed (allowed ports are 7869, 10000-10015). No doubts it won't work too.
That was a typo. I had 7869 and I eventually did get the debugger to work

Quote:
Thanks for the recommendations... But where in the manual did you find Ctrl-F9 shortcut for running with debugger?
I did not get it anywhere, but I was losing hope trying to read the help so I tried all types of buttons.

I have worked with many other editors and have not had such a hard time getting a debugger to work. the help made me jump around different pages to get everything to work. I would liked either
1. It just all works without even needing to read the help
2. The help is just one page that tells me everything i need to do to get it working on a XP machine with IIS installed.

Also, this is just constructive criticism as I think this is one of the best (if not the best) PHP editors around. However, IMHO, it has a little ways to go to compete with some of the editors from other languages. Then again this is way cheaper so maybe I am just being greedy. Cool
View user's profileFind all posts by alvintrSend private message


Joined: 08 Nov 2004
Posts: 5
Reply with quote
and I figured out the problem that caused me so much grief and would display this error...

Quote:
Failed to run DBG session
reason:
connection to the client address 127.0.0.1:7869 is not allowed
debugger request found in "query_string".
Not sure what it means? Visit http://www.nusphere.com/dbg/ for troubleshooting.


the problem stems from these lines I cut and pasted from the help into the PHP.INI file.

Quote:
extension=php_dbg.dll-4.3.9
[debugger]
debugger.enabled=on
debugger.profiler_enabled=on
debugger.hosts_allow= 10.100.100.100
debugger.hosts_deny=ALL
debugger.ports=7869, 10000/16


Well, once I took out hosts_deny=ALL it started to work. I thought that hosts_deny=All meant it would deny all except for what I allow in hosts_allow. This is a mistake I am sure other people have made while some some probably did not read it all and just cut and pasted the lines.
View user's profileFind all posts by alvintrSend private message
Site Admin

Joined: 13 Jul 2003
Posts: 8342
Reply with quote
Quote:
I thought that hosts_deny=All meant it would deny all except for what I allow in hosts_allow

Actually it means that: deny ALL except ones listed in the allowed.
Check if you typed right IP of the host where you run the IDE.
If you use SSH tunneling you have to list localhost only (or server's own IP depending on how you forwarded the sockets).
View user's profileFind all posts by dmitriSend private messageVisit poster's website
major difficulties getting debugger to work
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT - 5 Hours  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Reply to topic