NuSphere Forums Forum Index
NuSphere Forums
Reply to topic
Debugger - IDE compatability


Joined: 24 Jan 2008
Posts: 18
Reply with quote
Hello,
How can I find out what version of the IDE will continue to remote Debug with a debug module. In the past I have upgraded and then found out I had to install a new Debug module.
I dont like having to keep asking my admin to install a new module each time I upgrade.
Right now I am running 5620 with 3.6.1, but I want to upgrade the IDE without the debugger.
Thanks
Mike
View user's profileFind all posts by ampelosoSend private message
Site Admin

Joined: 13 Jul 2003
Posts: 8344
Reply with quote
When you upgrade IDE to a newer version, debugger is also should be updated because older debugger just does not support new features that come with new version of the IDE.

_________________
The PHP IDE team
View user's profileFind all posts by dmitriSend private messageVisit poster's website


Joined: 24 Jan 2008
Posts: 18
Reply with quote
Yes, but sometimes you will get an error stating an incompatability when it starts , and sometimes the new IDE WILL work with an older Debugger.
How could I tell?
View user's profileFind all posts by ampelosoSend private message
Veteran

Joined: 06 Jun 2007
Posts: 289
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Reply with quote
The changelog usually mentions when the DBG module was updated: www.nusphere.com/news/changes56.htm

_________________
Smile
View user's profileFind all posts by annoSend private messageVisit poster's website
Site Admin

Joined: 13 Jul 2003
Posts: 8344
Reply with quote
IDE will never work with an older version of debugger. If for example you have debugger modules that came with version 5.5, they won't work with 5.6. But still any debugger modules that came as 5.6 updates (including 3.6.1, 3.6.7, 3.6.8 etc) will work with version 5.6, in this case compatibility is guaranteed. Although, it's clear that newer versions comming as updates are fixing some problems. We recommend to install them.

_________________
The PHP IDE team
View user's profileFind all posts by dmitriSend private messageVisit poster's website


Joined: 01 May 2009
Posts: 2
Reply with quote
Hi

I am getting confused, which file should I be upgrading or should be upgraded by the PhpED 5.6 installer for the debugger to reach 3.6?

My listener correctly says 3.6.10 but I only have 3.2.14 of DBG. What should the php_dbg.dll file be

I have retried the 5.6 PhpED install several times and cannot get this problem resolved. I have looked through the forum but apologies if I should have found the answer.

Thanks
Troy
View user's profileFind all posts by troy wraySend private message


Joined: 01 May 2009
Posts: 2
Reply with quote
Wow, I was tearing my hair out with this one.

I am running 64-bit Vista. I had recently upgraded PhpEd to 5.6 but couldn't get the debug working.

I had the correct dbg-php-5.2.dll in my correct extensions directory and I was modifying the php.ini in the path where phpinfo() was telling me it was picking up the php.ini file from.

When I edited the php.ini file, my changes appeared to have been made, i.e. I could close and open again and the changes would be there. However, I finally realised what was going on when the date modified of the file never changed. The file was in C:\Program Files (x86)\PHP and there is something to do with how Vista protects files under the C:\Program Files (x86)\ directory.

What I had to do was copy the php.ini to my desktop, edit and save there and then copy that back to C:\Program Files (x86)\PHP. This gives a UAC warning but then copies the file and the modified date changes.

Restarted apache service and the 3.6.10 debugger was there.

I hope this might help someone else.

For reference, the lines I added to php.ini were:

zend_extension_ts="C:\php5\dbg-php-5.2.dll"

[debugger]
debugger.hosts_allow= 127.0.0.1 192.168.1.102 localhost
debugger.hosts_deny=ALL
debugger.ports=7869, 10000/16

The dbg-wizard was spot on in its instructions of what to do. The only thing is, you have to realise you can't make changes to php.ini in the way you expect if it's under the C:\Program Files (x86)\ directory.

Troy
View user's profileFind all posts by troy wraySend private message
Debugger - IDE compatability
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT - 5 Hours  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Reply to topic