NuSphere Forums Forum Index
NuSphere Forums
Reply to topic
Feature Request: Closing Bracket Overtype


Joined: 06 Oct 2007
Posts: 11
Reply with quote
In Zend Studio, closing brackets are overtyped in the same way that quotes work in PhpED.

Example:
In Zend Studio, if I type
Code:
require('include.php');
I get
Code:
require('include.php');
.

For contrast, in PhpED, if I type
Code:
require('include.php');
I get
Code:
require('include.php'));
.

Changing this would be a big help for us. You already have it working correctly for quotes, so brackets shouldn't be too much of an issue.

Thanks.
View user's profileFind all posts by signal0Send private message
Site Admin

Joined: 13 Jul 2003
Posts: 7887
Reply with quote
I see no logic here. Either don't enter closing brackets at all or if you do enter them, don't check "auto-close brackets".

_________________
The PHP IDE team
View user's profileFind all posts by dmitriSend private messageVisit poster's website
Guru master

Joined: 05 Jul 2004
Posts: 659
Location: Belgium
Reply with quote
I think he means that if you actually type the closing bracket by yourself, perhaps by mistake, it will overtype the one just added.
That's the way it works in Zend Studio. I do have to admit I understand the logic behind it.
View user's profileFind all posts by BlizzSend private messageVisit poster's website


Joined: 06 Oct 2007
Posts: 11
Reply with quote
The logic that you do not see is that I don't want to move my hands from typing position to hit an arrow key to bypass the close bracket so I can type the semi-colon at the end of the line. The IDE inserts the second parenthesis whether I have auto-close brackets enabled or not. I am beginning to wish we had not wasted money on this software given the "Your silly problem doesn't make any sense to us; go away." attitude that I've gotten each time I contacted support. But that's ok; I'm sure you'll just delete this post anyway.
View user's profileFind all posts by signal0Send private message
Guru master

Joined: 05 Jul 2004
Posts: 659
Location: Belgium
Reply with quote
FYI: A related discussion is going on here.
I understand what you are saying and couldn't agree more, but I cannot confirm your claim about the faulty workings of the editor with
auto-close brackets off. If I turn that function off the editor does not add parentheses, as expected. I tested this with the latest build (5220).

As for the rest, I don't always agree with the way things are handled here personally (like the deletion of topics or the sometimes rather "bossy" replies), but this forum is property of NuSphere and they can moderate it however they want. All in all, I'm glad this forum exists, it has helped me out a lot despite of all that. Everyone is attempting to contribute here and we are all only human, no? (Just my $0.02) Smile
View user's profileFind all posts by BlizzSend private messageVisit poster's website
Site Admin

Joined: 13 Jul 2003
Posts: 7887
Reply with quote
Feel free to open a new thread with questions to be voted: for/against these changes.

_________________
The PHP IDE team
View user's profileFind all posts by dmitriSend private messageVisit poster's website


Joined: 19 Jul 2006
Posts: 12
Reply with quote
I also vote for this topic. "auto-close brackets" is more disturbing than helpful if I want to type fast...
That is really one of the features where Zend works better (more intuitive).

But it could just be my style of typing code problematic? Smile
View user's profileFind all posts by bzoksSend private message
Feature Request: Closing Bracket Overtype
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT - 5 Hours  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Reply to topic