NuSphere Forums Forum Index
NuSphere Forums
Reply to topic
Exclude Directories from search
Veteran

Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 144
Reply with quote
Hi,
in my project I've 2 directories with thousands of files inside - I would exclude these directories (eg /images/, /maps/...) from the search tool.
How can I do? I think the HIDE tool doesn't work; i wont they appear in the code explorer

Thanks
View user's profileFind all posts by blackSend private message
Guru master

Joined: 05 Jul 2004
Posts: 659
Location: Belgium
Reply with quote
I don't think it's possible right now, but i would certainly like a that functionality, eventually with excluding those directories from the auto-completion too..
View user's profileFind all posts by BlizzSend private messageVisit poster's website
Veteran

Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 144
Reply with quote
yes it coold boost both the search functions and the phped boot... now for me it takes 20 seconds and more scanning all the files
View user's profileFind all posts by blackSend private message
Site Admin

Joined: 13 Jul 2003
Posts: 7881
Reply with quote
I'd recommend you to specify appropriate extensions in the "File mask" input. It will boost too.
For example you may use this mask:

*.php;*.inc;*.html;*.js;*.css
or even shorter

_________________
The PHP IDE team
View user's profileFind all posts by dmitriSend private messageVisit poster's website
File Mask


Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 17
Reply with quote
Where are you finding this "file mask"? I can see a hide files area in the project setup but I don't see the file mask option anywhere.
View user's profileFind all posts by fkellySend private message
Site Admin

Joined: 13 Jul 2003
Posts: 7881
Reply with quote
If you open Find In Files window, you'll see File Masks input on the left bottom corner.

_________________
The PHP IDE team
View user's profileFind all posts by dmitriSend private messageVisit poster's website
Veteran

Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 144
Reply with quote
yes I know but is better a global setting (so you can improve the startup too)
View user's profileFind all posts by blackSend private message


Joined: 19 Aug 2006
Posts: 76
Reply with quote
Bump! 2007 - 2010 and still not done! Sad

I have to search in XML files because some of them are configuration files, but we also have big generated XML files (they may be 200 megs) that are generated in a folder in the project tree. I would like a way to exclude that "extracted" folder from my seaches! There is no need to search in those generated XML files and it takes time!

Please considere this as my main request for phped! (my other one being multi-debug configurations).

Thank you for the support NuSphere!
View user's profileFind all posts by jlSend private message


Joined: 23 Jul 2008
Posts: 18
Reply with quote
You can hide the directory containing the extracted xml-files in project-settings. Then when you perform "Find in files" ([Alt]+F7), the files wont be included in the search.
View user's profileFind all posts by materixSend private message


Joined: 19 Aug 2006
Posts: 76
Reply with quote
materix wrote:
You can hide the directory containing the extracted xml-files in project-settings. Then when you perform "Find in files" ([Alt]+F7), the files wont be included in the search.

That sounds to me like a workaround, but you know what? I'll definitely use this trick anyway! Thanks..
View user's profileFind all posts by jlSend private message


Joined: 12 May 2009
Posts: 13
Reply with quote
In PhpED 5.9.5, under Project properties, on the "Properties" tab, there's a "files" section where you can specify both folder and file names to exclude from the project. I'm not sure when this feature was introduced, but it sure is handy.
View user's profileFind all posts by WardropSend private message


Joined: 11 Apr 2008
Posts: 2
Reply with quote
I have a problem with this option to hide directories.. How can I hide a folder that is called "movies" and it contains thousands of files and phped starts in around 5 minutes because of it.. but also it won't hide the folders in the actual application
that is called "movies" but contains the controllers.

So I want to hide "/static/images/movies/" but NOT hide "/controllers/movies/" ... How can I write that in there?

_________________
wa
View user's profileFind all posts by forapathySend private messageYahoo Messenger
Exclude Directories from search
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT - 5 Hours  
Page 1 of 2  

  
  
 Reply to topic