NuSphere Forums Forum Index
NuSphere Forums
Reply to topic
"Error level" debugging setting not holding


Joined: 09 Aug 2010
Posts: 9
Reply with quote
It doesn't seem that PhpED is using the value that I entered for "Error level" when determining which errors to show. I assumed that all I had to do to change the level of errors that PhpED shows me by going to Tools->Settings->Run & Debug->Settings and changing the value of "Error level"? However, that does not seem to work. I changed the value first to "1 - Fatal errors only" and then to "0 - None", however, I still get E_WARNING messages all the time. What's going on? I even modified my php.ini to show the same values and then stopped/restarted my web server, but I still get E_WARNING messages all the time. Any thoughts?
View user's profileFind all posts by hadoob024Send private message


Joined: 11 Apr 2010
Posts: 90
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Reply with quote
In phpEd, the manual sais:
Quote:
Error level specifies what type of errors should be shown as popup warnings. All the errors are shown in the Error tab anyway.

If you need to suppress warnings/non-fatal errors in PHP, just use the @ operator before function.
Example follows:
Code:
$var = @file_get_contents('nonexistent.file');
will fail, $var will be FALSE, but no warnings/errors are displayed.
View user's profileFind all posts by fibizaSend private message


Joined: 16 Aug 2010
Posts: 2
Reply with quote
I think I have the same issue as the topic starter.

Error level set to 0 (None). I see some notices & warnings in the error tab, but SOME warning still shows as a popup. How can I get rid of these popups?
View user's profileFind all posts by Private DetectiveSend private message


Joined: 09 Aug 2010
Posts: 9
Reply with quote
The errors that I'm receiving are pop-up warnings/errors (not inline ones). So that "Error level" setting is what determines which errors I see, correct?

Also, the problem is that all these errors/warnings are due to the CRM platform that we're using and not my code, so I cannot modify the files that are generating these warnings/errors.

Any thoughts on where I should go from here?

Thanks!
View user's profileFind all posts by hadoob024Send private message


Joined: 16 Aug 2010
Posts: 2
Reply with quote
Hmm, I think I have a temporary solution.

I've just added

Code:
error_reporting(0);


to the top of the code. And popups disappeared!

Errors can be seen in Error tab. But if there are too many errors, PHPEd doesn't display all of them. The last error description will be 'too many errors' and the others just don't show up. So if you want to full log of your error, you should

1) stop debug session (to avoid popups)
2) change 'error_reporting' back to appropriate value

It may be not so comfortable, but I think it's better that this "get E_WARNING and click OK" stuff.
View user's profileFind all posts by Private DetectiveSend private message


Joined: 09 Aug 2010
Posts: 9
Reply with quote
I agree. I don't like those warnings and would like to turn them off. I might have to go your route, although it would be nice to know why PhpED is throwing these warning messages when I have it set not to.
View user's profileFind all posts by hadoob024Send private message


Joined: 11 Apr 2010
Posts: 90
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Reply with quote
If you feel it is phpEd's debugger bug, I suggest to report it here http://shop.nusphere.com/customer/support.php .
View user's profileFind all posts by fibizaSend private message


Joined: 09 Aug 2010
Posts: 9
Reply with quote
Is that what you think it is? That's what I'm beginning to think. I just set "Error level" to be "0 - None". Then restarted NuSphere and am still getting these E_WARNING pop-ups.
View user's profileFind all posts by hadoob024Send private message


Joined: 11 Apr 2010
Posts: 90
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Reply with quote
I believe it is always better to report possible bug and be persuaded by support, that it is not, than to leave it and still have the bug there. This would lead to another one to discuss it here later. If it is not a bug and you get a solution from support, than you can post it here for other users.
View user's profileFind all posts by fibizaSend private message


Joined: 09 Aug 2010
Posts: 9
Reply with quote
Got it. Will do. Thanks.
View user's profileFind all posts by hadoob024Send private message
"Error level" debugging setting not holding
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT - 5 Hours  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Reply to topic