NuSphere Forums Forum Index
NuSphere Forums
Reply to topic
[resolved] Not able to debug Joomla with NuSphere PhpEd 5.01


Joined: 19 Aug 2007
Posts: 2
Reply with quote
Hi,

I am trying to debug Joomla using PhpEd but it seems to be not working. I set a breakpoint on index.php file and when i start in the debugger it works fine. But when i set a breakpoint in some file which gets executed when the user does something on the main page the debugger never stops at the breakpoint. Please help.

Regards,
Sanjiv
View user's profileFind all posts by sanjivSend private message
Site Admin

Joined: 13 Jul 2003
Posts: 8344
Reply with quote
Does index.php somehow include the file where you have set the breakpoint? In other words does it get executed when you execute index.php? or it gets executed later when for example submit button clicked or redirection or an image retrival?

_________________
The PHP IDE team
View user's profileFind all posts by dmitriSend private messageVisit poster's website


Joined: 19 Aug 2007
Posts: 2
Reply with quote
Hi Dmitri,

First of all thanks a lot for finding time to reply. The index.php doesn't include the file, the file gets executed when some event occurs, for example clicking a button or image. I searched all the postings in this forum and found many are facing this problem. If you have time please download the latest joomla and try setting a breakpoint in some other file. Let me know if i can help you in any way.
I think if we can debug Joomla from PhpEd it will be a big boost for phpEd itself. I like PhpEd and ready for any kind of help.

Regards,
Sanjiv
View user's profileFind all posts by sanjivSend private message
Site Admin

Joined: 13 Jul 2003
Posts: 8344
Reply with quote
I tried debugging files that are executed in responce to clicking on buttons and breakpoints triggered fine. Make sure that Debug session is started. If it is not, breakpoints have no effect.

_________________
The PHP IDE team
View user's profileFind all posts by dmitriSend private messageVisit poster's website
Debugger strange behaviour


Joined: 08 Jan 2010
Posts: 3
Reply with quote
Hi,

I'm a programmer moving to php web development and I'm evaluating NuSphere as IDE for Joomla (going to buy it if satisfied Smile)

I've downloaded the trial version and setup it (hopefully) in the correct way, also using dbg-wizard.php and tutorial.
Now the environment is working and I'm able to debug most of the code BUT something really strange happen
with some portions of code, expecially the object creation function "__construct".

Joomla is based on the Model-View-Controller design. Most of the user class coding is a matter of base class extension
starting from those available in the Joomla library. Let's say I want to write a controller class for a brand new component,
for this in my controller.php file I've to extend the JController class as follows:

<?php
defined ('_JEXEC') or die ('Restricted access');
jimport('joomla.application.component.controller');

class myController extends JController
{

/**
* Contructor for the myController class
*
* @param $default
* @return none
*/
function __contruct($default = array())
{
$this->__contruct($default);
$this->registerTask('add','edit');
$this->registerTask('apply','edit');
...
...
...



The line $this->__contruct($default); calls the ancestor class (JController) constructor that develops as follows:

function __construct( $config = array() )
{
//Initialize private variables
$this->_redirect = null;
$this->_message = null;
$this->_messageType = 'message';
$this->_taskMap = array();
$this->_methods= array();
...
...
...


well, to short it I simply say that:

if I put a breakpoint (for example) at the line

$this->_message = null;

of the ancestor class (JController) the debugger stops there

while if I put a breakpoint in myController class at the line

$this->registerTask('add','edit');

the debugger ignores it and DON'T STOP at all.


Also, just to let you know, this happens in the Eclipse IDE which actually uses a different XAMPP debugger extension (php_xdebug.dll).



Following some portion of phpinfo() of my environment, just let me know if something more is needed

PHP Version 5.3.1

System Windows NT MAURIZIO 5.1 build 2600 (Windows XP Professional Service Pack 3) i586
Build Date Nov 20 2009 17:20:57
Compiler MSVC6 (Visual C++ 6.0)
Architecture x86
Configure Command cscript /nologo configure.js "--enable-snapshot-build"
Server API Apache 2.0 Handler
Virtual Directory Support enabled
Configuration File (php.ini) Path no value
..
..
apache2handler
Apache Version Apache/2.2.14 (Win32) DAV/2 mod_ssl/2.2.14 OpenSSL/0.9.8l mod_autoindex_color PHP/5.3.1 mod_apreq2-20090110/2.7.1 mod_perl/2.0.4 Perl/v5.10.1
..
..
Apache Environment
Variable Value
MIBDIRS C:/xampp/php/extras/mibs
MYSQL_HOME C:\xampp\mysql\bin
OPENSSL_CONF C:/xampp/apache/bin/openssl.cnf
PHP_PEAR_SYSCONF_DIR C:\xampp\php
..
..
dbg
DBG DBG php debugger, version 3.8.10, Copyright 2001, 2009 Dmitri Dmitrienko, http://www.nusphere.com/dbg
Version 3.8.10
Linked as a shared library.
Dbg SSL not available
..
..
mysql
MySQL Support enabled
Active Persistent Links 0
Active Links 0
Client API version 5.1.41

Directive Local Value Master Value
mysql.allow_local_infile On On
mysql.allow_persistent On On
mysql.connect_timeout 60 60
mysql.default_host no value no value
...
View user's profileFind all posts by mgcataldoSend private message
[resolved] Not able to debug Joomla with NuSphere PhpEd 5.01
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT - 5 Hours  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Reply to topic