NuSphere Forums Forum Index
NuSphere Forums
Reply to topic
[resolved] Debugger problem when running via OpenURL


Joined: 28 Feb 2008
Posts: 4
Reply with quote
I am running Standard 4.6 and appeared to have installed debugger. When I press Run in Debugger (F9) the file (index for example) is opened, stops at first line, press shift-f8 & it continues on. So that makes me think debugger is installed. When I access via Tools-Open URL & type in http://localhost/catalog and enter, I receive an error "Failed to start debug session" & it goes no further. I have an eval version on an older pc where debug via open url works fine but it is expired. Also, when I use F9 debugger it will only debug the initial file load (index) but does not recognize breakpoints in subsqeuent files later in the call stack. On my old PC, I used the Open URL for debugging subsequent files in the call stack.
Any advice or guidance would be appreciated. I have also listed my phpinfo() below.
Thanks, Danny
View user's profileFind all posts by dwwellsSend private message
Site Admin

Joined: 13 Jul 2003
Posts: 8344
Reply with quote
Quote:
When I press Run in Debugger (F9) the file (index for example) is opened, stops at first line, press shift-f8 & it continues on. So that makes me think debugger is installed

not exactly. It only means that debugger is installed on the server that you contacted with URL shown in the Log window.
Is it the _SAME_ url you're entering in the Tools->Open ULR?

_________________
The PHP IDE team
View user's profileFind all posts by dmitriSend private messageVisit poster's website


Joined: 28 Feb 2008
Posts: 4
Reply with quote
Yes, it is the same url used in both. It is simply a homepage (oscommerce index.php). I used the Debugger Wizard, even set the settings the same as the pc that runs the eval version, but had no luck. I am also getting the error "cannot perform the validation ...Make sure default configuration file specifies ....General Tab of the Validator Engine option" which has to do with CSE Validator Lite . From what I have seen on the forum, I need to uninstall/reinstall to get that to go away. I didn't think they were related so I didn't mention earlier. Thanks for the response, Danny
View user's profileFind all posts by dwwellsSend private message
Site Admin

Joined: 13 Jul 2003
Posts: 8344
Reply with quote
Quote:
Yes, it is the same url used in both

would you please submit screenshot(s)?

_________________
The PHP IDE team
View user's profileFind all posts by dmitriSend private messageVisit poster's website


Joined: 28 Feb 2008
Posts: 4
Reply with quote
Sorry I did not respond back, I had to attend to personal issues so I have been unavailable. I un-installed the standard version and upgraded to professional 5.2. Now my only error is "Failed to start debug session. Please make sure debugger module is installed on the server that corresponds to http:..locallost/catalog URL - when I debug with Tools->Open URL ->http://localhost/catalog

I ran dbg-wizard & it points to debugger not installed. I have taken the steps given but have not been successful in getting debugger up. I have placed the php_dbg.dll-4.3.x file in directories (apache server) C:\Appserv\php & also in C:\Appserv\php\extensions, Also stopped & started server each time. My php.ini is located in c:\program files\nusphere\phped\php & contains entries :

extension_dir = "C:\Appserv\php\extensions"
extension=php_dbg.dll-4.3.x
[debugger]
debugger.enabled=On
debugger.profiler_enabled=on
debugger.hosts_allow= 127.0.0.1 localhost
debugger.hosts_deny=ALL
debugger.ports=7869, 10000/16

with No Zend extensions existing in php.ini

The Dbg-wizard reported that:
I see that:
Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in c:\appserv\www\dbg-wizard.php on line 253

* PHP Version: 4.3.3
* Web Server: Apache/1.3.28 (Win32) PHP/4.3.3
* Server Name: localhost
* OS: WINNT
* Your Client IP Address: 127.0.0.1
* Your Server IP Address: 127.0.0.1
* Port: 80
* Your Web Server is on the same machine with PhpED
* Path to website files: c:\appserv\www\
* Document Root is: c:\appserv\www\
* Your PHP.INI file is
* PHP extensions directory is c:\php4
* DBG (PHP DEBUGGER) is NOT INSTALLED

How to install Server side DBG module

I noticed that DBG (PHP DEBUGGER) is NOT INSTALLED on your server localhost.

Your DBG Module is: <PhpED install path>\debugger\server\Windows\x86\php_dbg.dll-4.3.x
To install it, please do the following:

* Copy <PhpED install path>\debugger\server\Windows\x86\php_dbg.dll-4.3.x into c:\php4 on your server localhost. No NEED TO CHANGE THE NAME OF THE MODULE!!
* Add the following lines to
extension=php_dbg.dll-4.3.x
[debugger]
debugger.hosts_allow= 127.0.0.1 localhost
debugger.hosts_deny=ALL
debugger.ports=7869, 10000/16

Sorry for all the info but was attempting to gather as much info as possible. Thanks so much for your assistance.
Danny
View user's profileFind all posts by dwwellsSend private message


Joined: 28 Feb 2008
Posts: 4
Reply with quote
Finally got the debugger to work. After several uninstalls/reinstalls, I put the php.ini back in C:\windows & also modified the system variables on the machine to include the path to the server & extensions (c:\Appserv\php;c:\Appserv\php\extensions). There may be an alternate way of setting this but it was the only way I knew. I still get warnings when starting apache that : (Unknown():Unable to load dynamic library 'C:\Appserv\php\extensions\php_curl.dll' - The specified module could not be found." with same for module php_sqlite.dll. They exist in the directory listed so I have no clue at current. All I know is debugger now works.

I am stumbling my way through php, html, java script, etc.. as my background is in mid-range programming (IBM AS/400 -iSeries with RPG for 20 years). Also if anybody has any other recommendations to the path scenario or why I am getting the warnings, please feel free to advise. Thanks for the feedback & assistance.
Danny
View user's profileFind all posts by dwwellsSend private message
Site Admin

Joined: 13 Jul 2003
Posts: 8344
Reply with quote
Quote:
I put the php.ini back in C:\windows

I'd highly recommend you not to do it, otherwise no other php distributions installed on your computer will work.

Please consider the following:
-remove php.ini from windows directory
-remove all the directories you added to the PATH
-make sure that correct php.ini is in Apache's directory (the directory where apache.exe or httpd.exe is)
-make sure that all dlls from php directory (except all php4*.dll) are copied to Apache's directory
-restart apache

_________________
The PHP IDE team
View user's profileFind all posts by dmitriSend private messageVisit poster's website
[resolved] Debugger problem when running via OpenURL
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT - 5 Hours  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Reply to topic