NuSphere Forums Forum Index
NuSphere Forums
Reply to topic
Wildcard hosts in hosts_allow?


Joined: 14 Jun 2007
Posts: 67
Reply with quote
Just wondering if it's possible to have a wildcard host in the list of hots_allow in the debugger settings?

Ie. something like:

Code:
debugger.hosts_allow=127.0.0.1 localhost 192.168.*


which would allow all hosts in the 192.168.* range.

Cameron.
View user's profileFind all posts by CjungeSend private message
Site Admin

Joined: 13 Jul 2003
Posts: 8340
Reply with quote
192.168.
or
192.168.0.0/16

_________________
The PHP IDE team
View user's profileFind all posts by dmitriSend private messageVisit poster's website


Joined: 14 Jun 2007
Posts: 67
Reply with quote
dmitri wrote:
192.168.
or
192.168.0.0/16

Cheers! Thanks for the fast reply!
View user's profileFind all posts by CjungeSend private message
Site Admin

Joined: 13 Jul 2003
Posts: 8340
Reply with quote
you're welcome.

_________________
The PHP IDE team
View user's profileFind all posts by dmitriSend private messageVisit poster's website
I had the same question...


Joined: 06 Aug 2007
Posts: 37
Location: Atlanta, Georgia USA
Reply with quote
I had the same question and was glad to find the answer so easily. But may I suggest that you add this information to the debug wizard? (dbg-wizard.php)

Also, for those who are IP math challenged, could you explain how the 192.168.0.0/16 works? What if I want to allow only the 192.168.0.0 thru 192.168.0.255? How would that me specified? (yeah I know I can just specify 192.168.0. but it would be nice to learn how the other way works. Smile
View user's profileFind all posts by MikeSchinkelSend private messageVisit poster's website
Re: I had the same question...


Joined: 14 Jun 2007
Posts: 67
Reply with quote
MikeSchinkel wrote:
Also, for those who are IP math challenged, could you explain how the 192.168.0.0/16 works? What if I want to allow only the 192.168.0.0 thru 192.168.0.255? How would that me specified? (yeah I know I can just specify 192.168.0. but it would be nice to learn how the other way works. Smile

I couldn't actually get the /16 way to work properly, so just chopped off the last block as you did.
View user's profileFind all posts by CjungeSend private message
Site Admin

Joined: 13 Jul 2003
Posts: 8340
Reply with quote
Quote:
could you explain how the 192.168.0.0/16 works? What if I want to allow only the 192.168.0.0 thru 192.168.0.255?

192.168.0. or 192.168.0.0/24 or 192.168.0.0/255.255.255.0
24 - means that the NETWORK mask is 24bit wide (FF.FF.FF.0 in hex or 255.255.255.0 in dec)

_________________
The PHP IDE team
View user's profileFind all posts by dmitriSend private messageVisit poster's website
Wildcard hosts in hosts_allow?
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT - 5 Hours  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Reply to topic