NuSphere Forums Forum Index
NuSphere Forums
Reply to topic


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 59
Reply with quote
Is it possible to use edit and continue while debugging on a remote apache server?

Thanks

John
View user's profileFind all posts by monkiesSend private message
Site Admin

Joined: 13 Jul 2003
Posts: 8340
Reply with quote
"Edit and continue" - what do you mean by this?
Certainly you can edit, but what to continue?
View user's profileFind all posts by dmitriSend private messageVisit poster's website


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 59
Reply with quote
http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q=debug+edit+and+continue&btnG=Google+Search&meta=

The first link has a nice example of how you can use this feature:

http://msdn.microsoft.com/vstudio/tour/vs2005_guided_tour/VS2005pro/Smart_Client/EditContinue.htm

I like this feature, say you are miles deep in code and you realise that you have spelt a variable name wrong:

$name = $nam + ' hello '; // should be $name = $name . ' hello ';

As you step onto this line, you edit and fix it, and save and upload, then continue debuging.

Cheers,

John
View user's profileFind all posts by monkiesSend private message
Site Admin

Joined: 13 Jul 2003
Posts: 8340
Reply with quote
I know this feature but it sounds a bit differently: compile application with PROGRAM DATABASE FOR EDIT AND CONTINUE. It does work for applications when debug symbols are enabled and optimization is disabled.

Regarding PHP, I think it is just impossible to get PHP working this way.
View user's profileFind all posts by dmitriSend private messageVisit poster's website
edit and continue
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT - 5 Hours  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Reply to topic