NuSphere Forums Forum Index
NuSphere Forums
Reply to topic
Execute in debug mode


Joined: 10 May 2006
Posts: 4
Reply with quote
I've a strange problem. I've downloaded phpEd 4520.

I've created a new workspace called "MyWebsite"
Created a project called "ProjectMyWebsite"
Added a couple of php files to this project which are running on my webserver right now.

After that, i've created a new workspace called "Testing"
Created a project called "Test"
Created a php file containing: <?php echo "Hello!"; ?>

My problem is that I receive the error: "Failed to start debug sessionPlease verify settings for the local debugger module" (see the missing space between sessionPlease??)
When do I receive this error?
Start phpEd
Open Workspace-> MyWebsite
F9
Then I receive this error.
But when I open Workspace Test, then everything work, including the debugger. Strange...
What is more strange: when i've done the above, and then again open the workspace MyWebsite, the debugger works!!!

So what i'm doing right now is:
Start phpEd
Open Workspace -> Test
F9
Close Workspace
Open Workspace -> MyWebsite
F9
Because then everything works..

Is this a bug?

Regards,
Tom
PS. sorry for the long post!
View user's profileFind all posts by tofraSend private message
Veteran

Joined: 24 Jan 2006
Posts: 311
Reply with quote
Hi - thanks for the post. We definetely need more information - what are the settings/mappings of the projects in both workspaces, are they different? When you say files running on your webserver - do you mean local or remote server and how do you run them in debugger? Which file is selected when you hit F9 in all of these use cases?
If you could, please supply a step by step with details - includinfg the info about how you close workspace and which files are active/selected when you hit F9. Thank you!
View user's profileFind all posts by yfaktorSend private message
Site Admin

Joined: 13 Jul 2003
Posts: 8342
Reply with quote
Did you change settings tools->settings->SRV web server?
Are you running any local firewall?
Please post there phpinfo() output (copy-paste)
View user's profileFind all posts by dmitriSend private messageVisit poster's website


Joined: 10 May 2006
Posts: 4
Reply with quote
tools->settings->Default run mode is HTTP mode (SRV local WEB server)
Run in external browser is unchecked.
When I check this one, Internet explorer (7 Beta 2) start, and shows the page, but phpEd show a box: waiting for debug session... and it will fail with error: Failed to start debug sessionPlease verify settings for the local debugger module.
When I use the "Testing" workspace it's work correct.

Should i send you the two workspaces? (it's only 72kb)
Also no firewall is running. I've also tried this on my laptop, home pc and pc at work, all have the same problems.

Here is my phpinfo:
PHP Version 5.1.4

System Windows NT 00-002149 5.1 build 2600
Build Date May 4 2006 10:30:29
Configure Command cscript /nologo configure.js "--enable-snapshot-build" "--with-gd=shared"
Server API CGI/FastCGI
Virtual Directory Support enabled
Configuration File (php.ini) Path C:\Program Files\nusphere\phped\php5\php.ini
PHP API 20041225
PHP Extension 20050922
Zend Extension 220051025
Debug Build no
Thread Safety enabled
Zend Memory Manager enabled
IPv6 Support enabled
Registered PHP Streams php, file, http, ftp, compress.zlib
Registered Stream Socket Transports tcp, udp
Registered Stream Filters convert.iconv.*, string.rot13, string.toupper, string.tolower, string.strip_tags, convert.*, consumed, zlib.*

This program makes use of the Zend Scripting Language Engine:
Zend Engine v2.1.0, Copyright (c) 1998-2006 Zend Technologies
with DBG v2.20.2, (C) 2000,2006, by Dmitri Dmitrienko
View user's profileFind all posts by tofraSend private message
Site Admin

Joined: 13 Jul 2003
Posts: 8342
Reply with quote
Well, after all, you have two projects. One works and another does not. What are the settings of the failing project?
View user's profileFind all posts by dmitriSend private messageVisit poster's website


Joined: 10 May 2006
Posts: 4
Reply with quote
The settings are both the same. The weird thing is, that when opening the "testing" first, run it (using F9), then stop it, and opening "mywebsite" then running works. If I don't run the "testing" first, "mywebsite" keeps failing.
You can download the code on
You should extract it to: D:\php

Let me know if you need more info..
View user's profileFind all posts by tofraSend private message
Site Admin

Joined: 13 Jul 2003
Posts: 8342
Reply with quote
everything is very simple.
In the "failing" project you set "default file to run" as d:\php\htdocs\index.html
This is not a PHP file and therefore debugger fails to run debug session with it.
View user's profileFind all posts by dmitriSend private messageVisit poster's website


Joined: 10 May 2006
Posts: 4
Reply with quote
Damn you're right! I've made it a php file, and now it is working.
Do you have any clue why it is working if I do it like above?

And maybe a tip: show a message box saying that it cannot start in debug when you've selected a html file instead of a php file?

Thanks Dimitrie!
View user's profileFind all posts by tofraSend private message
Site Admin

Joined: 13 Jul 2003
Posts: 8342
Reply with quote
sure, it's already done since we replcated the problem and found what causes it.
View user's profileFind all posts by dmitriSend private messageVisit poster's website
Execute in debug mode
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT - 5 Hours  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Reply to topic