NuSphere Forums Forum Index
NuSphere Forums
Reply to topic
x64 Linux and Windows with Php Express

I'm running x64 on all my servers; using Linux Fedora 8 x64 and Windows 2003 and 2008 Server x64 (Running x64 PHP under IIS); in the download package for PhpExpress I see files for x86; which I assume are 32 bit and not 64 bit; I would assume you would make a 32 and 64 folder. My question do you have x64 version.
Site Admin

That's correct, there are only 32bit modules.
Feel free to check the other posts in this forum to see info related to 64bit modules.

I searched for other 64 bit questions before asking; didn't find anything relative; is there something I missed?
Do you have any plans to release a 64 bit version soon?
It seems to me that its just the way its compiled; I can't image what code changes would be needed.
I've been a computer programmer since the late 70's; it seemed that when things changed from 8 bit to 16; people jumped on it; from 16 to 32 they jumped a little slower; from 32 to 64 they got to old to jump anymore; go figure; but 64 isn't any harder; I just don't get it.
Can you tell me if there is a way to get this to work under a 64 bit.
Site Admin

aha.
just the first three on the first page:
64bit-binaries-availability-t2964.html
v1-4-64-bit-support-on-linux-t3349.html
phpexpress-1-4-doesnt-work-on-gentoo-64bit-t4030.html

regarding the other ideas, below are some facts:
-64bit platforms are slightly slower than 32bit and particularly apache+php combination is slower by 2-5% on the exactly same hardware and this number grows fast with increasing load because of far more memory footprint of 64bit applications, while memory bandwidth is still the same.
-64bit is not officially supported because php has known bugs that will lead to crashes if you compile it for 64bit target (see this post as an example: http://news.php.net/php.internals/36092 illustrating the problem)