NuSphere Forums Forum Index
NuSphere Forums
Reply to topic
Problem with install...


Joined: 08 Nov 2003
Posts: 3
Reply with quote
I had a previous version of the platform which had a major bug. I downloaded the latest version & now it will not install. I get the following error "Terminating on signal SIGALRM(14)". Exactly what error is that and how do I correct it?

I get that message after either Quick or Custom Install.

Thanks,

Bill Strong
View user's profileFind all posts by WRStrongSend private message
Site Admin

Joined: 13 Jul 2003
Posts: 7897
Reply with quote
What platform does your server run ?
View user's profileFind all posts by dmitriSend private messageVisit poster's website


Joined: 08 Nov 2003
Posts: 3
Reply with quote
I am running it on Windows XP Pro. The previous install had a really wierd quirk. I made a particular PHP & it would not view it properly. I was experimenting with sessions and forwarding values from forms and the values kept getting lost while using your emulator. When I uploaded & tested on the web, everything worked as expected. Any ideas what that error message was and how to get around it?
View user's profileFind all posts by WRStrongSend private message
Site Admin

Joined: 13 Jul 2003
Posts: 7897
Reply with quote
Okay, you run your server on XP. Great.
Accoding to your description you installed TechPlatform on it and ran a particular php script that uses php sessions and process values passed from fron-end html form(s). I got it.
Now would you please tell what problem did you get ? Any errors were shown or what ?

Regarding SIGALRM(14), where did you get the trouble ? What did you run ? Please be more descriptive.

TIA.
View user's profileFind all posts by dmitriSend private messageVisit poster's website


Joined: 08 Nov 2003
Posts: 3
Reply with quote
Regarding the php error, it just plain would not pass any variables. Only blank info where the data was to be displayed.

The error I received "Terminating on signal SIGALRM(14)" was upon attempt at installing the latest platform in either custom or quick install. The browser refreshed and I saw the nusphere logo on the left, a small banner across the top that stated that it was installing... and in the first available white area below that is where the error appeared & the installer stopped at that point & will not install.
View user's profileFind all posts by WRStrongSend private message


Joined: 21 Nov 2003
Posts: 39
Reply with quote
Are you sure you use remote WEB server or local SRV? And also try accessing parameters by $_GET and $_POST or $_REQUEST as by default configuration they are not exported to globals (while it might be so on your hoster's php configuration)
View user's profileFind all posts by netgertSend private messageVisit poster's websiteMSN Messenger
Site Admin

Joined: 13 Jul 2003
Posts: 7897
Reply with quote
to netgert:
nope, seems WRStrong got a problem during installation, far before any use of it. It looks like he has a pre-installed perl and probably there is a kind of conflict with perl used by TP during installation.

Anyway, I'd recommend to try TP 3.2 which uses native installer.
View user's profileFind all posts by dmitriSend private messageVisit poster's website
Problem with install...
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT - 5 Hours  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Reply to topic