NuSphere Forums Forum Index
NuSphere Forums
Reply to topic
Does dbg-cli do JIT debugging?


Joined: 08 Jun 2004
Posts: 6
Reply with quote
I've been gradually getting some success with dbg-cli. I can run scripts in http mode single step and print variables. I can't however see any output of the php script its self (the output which would normally be rendered by a browser). Where does that go?
So I tried running a script from a browser giving it a url test.php?DBGSESSID=1@clienthost:7869;d=1,p=1. But it fails to connect to the debugger. I've tried setting the port to 7869. I notice quite a few functions with JIT in their name, so I was hoping this would work. There doesn't seem to be a way
to tell dbg-cli to just sit there listening.
The test script is just:
<html>
<head>
<title>Example</title>
</head>
<body>
<?php
$string = "Hi, I'm a PHP script!";
echo $string;
?>
</body>
</html>
View user's profileFind all posts by iandallSend private message
Site Admin

Joined: 13 Jul 2003
Posts: 7881
Reply with quote
JIT is an ability to run debug session Just In Time when you get an error or a problem in your script that was run without any request to debug.
It does not relate to ability to show any output....

Output itself can't be shown in dbg-cli 2.11.0 but it's what will be done soon.
View user's profileFind all posts by dmitriSend private messageVisit poster's website


Joined: 08 Jun 2004
Posts: 6
Reply with quote
Well, In understand that the JIT debugging wouldn't make dbg-cli display anything. was hoping though that using the JIT method would allow the browser to do the displaying, and dbg-cli to do the debugging!

I discovered where the outpout is going. It is explicitly read and discarded in process_conn(), which I have been able to fix, although it needed an extra call to process_conn() to make sure all the output was processed before the session is finished.


Last edited by iandall on Thu Jun 10, 2004 9:35 am; edited 1 time in total
View user's profileFind all posts by iandallSend private message
Site Admin

Joined: 13 Jul 2003
Posts: 7881
Reply with quote
so, why don't you use PHPED ?
View user's profileFind all posts by dmitriSend private messageVisit poster's website


Joined: 08 Jun 2004
Posts: 6
Reply with quote
Good question. I guess I am pretty used to using emacs as aan IDE for other things and was kind of hoping to do the same for PhP. I've written a dbg.el for emacs, but it is not much tested yet.
View user's profileFind all posts by iandallSend private message
Does dbg-cli do JIT debugging?
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT - 5 Hours  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Reply to topic