NuSphere Forums Forum Index
NuSphere Forums
Reply to topic


Joined: 10 Apr 2014
Posts: 52
Reply with quote
I'm super interested in the Cloud9 or CodeAnywhere style of systems, but am not quite ready to put that much reliance on 100% SAAS ide's yet. The concept of not being tied to my workstation (even with RDP from my laptop) is quickly becoming old school for me as I like to travel around and do work from where i might be. If i retain all my site files and development system on my laptop and it got stolen that would be a catastrophe.

In the end I cant imagine there is the ideal setup as each of them have strong points and weak points.
View user's profileFind all posts by probc2Send private message
Guru master

Joined: 24 Jul 2009
Posts: 712
Reply with quote
I wonder how long this post will be here before it gets deleted Wink

For a lot of editing I do now use PhpStorm because the IDE is just so much more helpful and I've been having bad performance issues with PhpED where it regularly hangs with high CPU and memory.

For 'convenience' I do sometimes use Xdebug, but I often regret that and revert back to PhpED for debugging. Then when I am done with debugging, I get frustrated with the PhpED issues and go back to PhpStorm for coding.

It appears Xdebug and Yii just do not get along. Something about Xdebug causes Yii to throw errors all the time whilst single stepping, as if Xdebug is inspecting objects and/or properties in advance and causing them to be initialised too soon.

Well, I'm unsure if it is Xdebug or something PhpStorm does, but debugging the same code in PhpED is never a problem.
View user's profileFind all posts by plugnplaySend private message


Joined: 18 Jul 2007
Posts: 25
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Reply with quote
probc2 wrote:
Why not just pay for an upgrade and support the developers livelihood? Chances are it'll stop nagging.


I guess you missed the part where I said I've been using/paying for the software for 8 years.

_________________
Ya
View user's profileFind all posts by loki_racerSend private message
Site Admin

Joined: 13 Jul 2003
Posts: 7857
Reply with quote
We've done with v16 and ready to start deplying v17. Sorry, at this point we cannot make any changes and release any updates to v15.
There are only two options: 1) check "remind me later" - it will postpone next reminder by 2 weeks 2) purchase update with good discount.

loki_racer wrote:


I guess you missed the part where I said I've been using/paying for the software for 8 years.

I guess you missed the point -- EVEN if we released update to v15, you'd not get this update without active subscription. You need to renew subscription anyway.
If you renew, you'll get v16 where this problem has already been fixed.

_________________
The PHP IDE team
View user's profileFind all posts by dmitriSend private messageVisit poster's website


Joined: 18 Jul 2007
Posts: 25
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Reply with quote
dmitri wrote:
1) check "remind me later" - it will postpone next reminder by 2 weeks


That functionality doesn't work. It's broken. Hence my post here. No matter what I, or others, do, the software nags me once a day.

dmitri wrote:
2) purchase update with good discount.


v16 added nothing of value for me as far as I could determine. If it had fixed a number of bugs in the software, then I would consider an upgrade.

It's a pretty crappy business policy to ask people to upgrade, once a day, on software that they have already paid for. It's an even worse business policy to refuse to remove the nag modal from paid software. You can look at my account history, I've been a customer for almost a decade. Your response to this thread will make me seriously reconsider if I want to continue to be a supporting user of this software.

_________________
Ya
View user's profileFind all posts by loki_racerSend private message


Joined: 10 Apr 2014
Posts: 52
Reply with quote
Chances are the product calls home to check the license. Probably a hostfile entry to block the url involved might curb this issue. Some smart person around here could probably watch the network traffic and determine what the url is.
View user's profileFind all posts by probc2Send private message
Guru master

Joined: 24 Jul 2009
Posts: 712
Reply with quote
loki_racer wrote:
It's a pretty crappy business policy to ask people to upgrade, once a day, on software that they have already paid for. It's an even worse business policy to refuse to remove the nag modal from paid software.


It's clearly not a business policy; it was a BUG. It wasn't intended to be a nag modal.

I understand it is annoying you, but you can't expect them to retrospectively fix a bug in v15 when v16 shipped nearly 8 months ago. You can be reasonably sure that no other software company would; they would almost certainly ask you to pay for an upgrade.
View user's profileFind all posts by plugnplaySend private message


Joined: 18 Jul 2007
Posts: 25
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Reply with quote
plugnplay wrote:
You can be reasonably sure that no other software company would; they would almost certainly ask you to pay for an upgrade.


You're right. No software company, ever, has patched their older software /s

_________________
Ya
View user's profileFind all posts by loki_racerSend private message
Guru master

Joined: 24 Jul 2009
Posts: 712
Reply with quote
Of course companies patch/update their older software. But not many of them in the same context as what we are discussing here.

Where a problem is noticed in an older version after a newer version is released, most software companies will implement fixes only in the current/new versions and will not retrospectively back-port fixes into the older version.

I've got many applications installed that never received another bug fix after the new version is released.

It is just unfortunate that in this case the bug is causing a message dialog to appear once a day. Come to think of it I do have an application that does something very similar and I've got so used to automatically clicking OK on it every morning I'd forgotten.
View user's profileFind all posts by plugnplaySend private message


Joined: 13 Jun 2016
Posts: 1
Reply with quote
ricktu wrote:
probc2 wrote:
I could just imagine what their support department is replying back to you with as well "send screenshots", and "we cant reproduce the problem". I've been down that path a number of times with them on various bugs with virtually no resolution.


Actually they did respond when I contacted them about it. They said they knew about the bug and it has been fixed in the latest version but they would not fix it in my version (14) because work on it has been closed off.

While I can appreciate that pretty much all development companies close off development work at some point for past versions they have an awful lot of their customers still working on versions 14 and 15 however this is a major bug that is causing them to lose goodwill with their customers so not fixing it is a bad business decision. Especially when it must be a very minor fix. Comment out the line of code that opens the reminder if they wanted to be quick about it.

I'll check out phpstorm too. I'd also recommend the sublime text editor to you guys. It is not a dedicated php ide but it is a wonderful editor anyway.


I can also understand why they made such a decision. If they have fixed it in their latest version then it's good. I'm not saying it is a good decision, although I think it is a risky one, for those who are bothered by the bug they would have to ultimately choose whether to upgrade or switch.
View user's profileFind all posts by RockettellSend private message


Joined: 23 Jan 2015
Posts: 16
Reply with quote
version 16 did not remove this bug. I have phped 16 and clicking the checkbox on the popup reminder does nothing to stop it from popping up again next time i open phped (some minutes after). please fix ... Crying or Very sad
View user's profileFind all posts by markh1Send private message
Site Admin

Joined: 13 Jul 2003
Posts: 7857
Reply with quote
What build of v16 are you using?
What is shown on the popup? Is it about new build each time or about the same?

_________________
The PHP IDE team
View user's profileFind all posts by dmitriSend private messageVisit poster's website
Upgrade reminder not stopping.
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT - 5 Hours  
Page 2 of 3  

  
  
 Reply to topic