NuSphere Forums Forum Index
NuSphere Forums
Reply to topic
Some issues I noticed during evaluation/trial

Hello everyone,

I've been testing PhpED for a couple of days now. I've been using Macromedia Homesite for several years now and have always been missing the convenience and help in debugging an IDE can/should provide. Seems as if PhpED could make it as our new development platform. Good work!

Still there are some bugs or issues I'd like to discuss, maybe helping other people in evaluating the software. Unfortunately, I cannot describe all of them as precisely as I would like to. I've been using PhpED 3.2.1 Build 3239 eval on WinXP with a remote linux server (Debian, PHP4.1.2, PhpED-supplied DBG extension).

1. When debugging, PhpED tends to open a lot of files in an not always comprehensible manner. Sometimes it seems as if every file which is included by a script is opened, also if you don't "step into" it. This clutters up the file tab - debugging a more complex application gives me about 15 or 20 open files after just two or three requests.

2. I get an "Unexpected Error: Access violation at address 003B4EB1 in module 'phpED.exe'. Read of address 00000040." quite often. This seems to be somehow related to debugging and hitting files that have not yet been opened. You can ignore the error and continue working, however this causes PhpED to miss some of your requests, i. e. you need to reload files in the browser serveral times before PhpED intercepts one of the requests for debugging. Additionally, breakpoints are missed at random after that and the IDE stops on the first line of a script when debugging, even if told not to do so. After restarting the IDE everything works fine again, at least until the error pops up again.