NuSphere Forums Forum Index
NuSphere Forums
Reply to topic
Several "nice to haves"
slarsen

Nice product. Has come a long way since my last evaluation and I now use it. Since I'm new to PHPED, I may not of figured everything out yet, but intuitively speaking, I could not find the following features:

1. A way to turn off the COM listenr object from auto-launching.
Sometimes this takes 30 seconds or more to load at startup and while loading, the program is frozen so I can't do anything. Should be a configuration that allows this to launch the first time you click the 'Run', 'Debug', etc or to have it auto-launch at startup. I would assume there is not much overhead to this COM object in memory, but if there is, this is another reason. Sometimes it's nice just to code...

2. Custom tag completion.
Homesite offers a dialog box where I can define a tag (or anything actually), with a beginning (e.g. <b>), and an end (e.g. </b>). Then whenever I type the beginning, the end automatically completes and my cursor is placed between them. I know there is a 'shortcuts' capability, but would like to see an automatic feature (no special keys to press first).

3. Custom toolbar icons/events.
Homesite also offers a way to assign shortcuts, tag creation (see #2), commands, even launch applications, from toolbars. It allows you to assign the action to the button and to assign an icon (bitmap image). This is very helpful for creating custom shop activities.

4. Sorting class methods.
For the life of me, I could not figure out how to sort the methods within a class in the class explorer view. When you right click on a class and select sort, it sorts the "classes" but not methods within the classes. Currently it looks like PHPEd just brings the class methods into the class explorer in the order they are entered in the class. With many methods to a class, it sometimes becomes difficult to find a method. Being able to sort by 'name' for example, would perhaps make it some what easier.