NuSphere Forums Forum Index
NuSphere Forums
Reply to topic
*resolved* MOVING file to remote sever


Joined: 25 Mar 2013
Posts: 10
Reply with quote
Why now it's MOVE local files to the remote machine instead of COPY it as before? Evil or Very Mad
I want my local files on my local machine and a copy of it on remote, but NOT only on remote!

How to fix it?
View user's profileFind all posts by aaliseykoSend private message


Joined: 24 Feb 2010
Posts: 2
Reply with quote
it even deletes the entire local folder here !
I just lost a whole bunch of files !

please give us a very fasy fix for this
View user's profileFind all posts by bas1985Send private message
Site Admin

Joined: 13 Jul 2003
Posts: 7875
Reply with quote
It does not move or copy anything without a warning. Seems you agreed to the warning or disabled it.
There is nothing to fix. Now it works the same way as in Window Explorer. I understand that you used to work old way, but... there are other people who are used to work with the other software where Windows Explroer way is more common. We had to change to more standard way.

Copy operation instead of Move can be selected with Ctrl key pressed while dragged.
See Green Plus sign on the dragged image -- a clear indication that copy operation will take place.

_________________
The PHP IDE team
View user's profileFind all posts by dmitriSend private messageVisit poster's website


Joined: 25 Mar 2013
Posts: 10
Reply with quote
Ok. Pressed CTRL is fine.

dmitri wrote:
It does not move or copy anything without a warning. Seems you agreed to the warning or disabled it.

Yes, but for a couple of years I saw this message a lot of times and ALL time it ask for COPY, not move. So I just comfirm it without reading.

dmitri wrote:
but... there are other people who are used to work with the other software where Windows Explroer way is more common. We had to change to more standard way.

Do you really think so? ok. Let ME choose my "common" way.

One more thing about "more common" explorer d'n'd action:

C:\X\file1 -> C:\Y\file1 = move
C:\X\file1 -> D:\X\file1 = copy
C:\X\file1 -> F(lash_drive):\X\file1 = copy
C:\X\file1 -> W(orkgroup):\X\file1 = copy

C:\X\file1 -> Remote:\X\file1 = What do you expect?
View user's profileFind all posts by aaliseykoSend private message
Veteran

Joined: 02 Sep 2007
Posts: 112
Location: Kiel, Germany
Reply with quote
aaliseyko wrote:
One more thing about "more common" explorer d'n'd action:

C:\X\file1 -> C:\Y\file1 = move
C:\X\file1 -> D:\X\file1 = copy
C:\X\file1 -> F(lash_drive):\X\file1 = copy
C:\X\file1 -> W(orkgroup):\X\file1 = copy

C:\X\file1 -> Remote:\X\file1 = What do you expect?

You're absolutely right. I hope this will be implemented in a similar way.

Cheers,
Jan
View user's profileFind all posts by EnigmaSend private message
Site Admin

Joined: 13 Jul 2003
Posts: 7875
Reply with quote
alekseyka, that's too unlear and non-obvious logic. It's enough that current logic is clearer and raises less questions. I'm sorry that you have to learn new one now.

_________________
The PHP IDE team
View user's profileFind all posts by dmitriSend private messageVisit poster's website
Veteran

Joined: 02 Sep 2007
Posts: 112
Location: Kiel, Germany
Reply with quote
dmitri wrote:
alekseyka, that's too unlear and non-obvious logic.

Well, that's the way the Windows Explorer works... Wink I don't know if it's helpful to introduce a new behavior that matches neither the one of the old PhpED versions nor the one of the Windows Explorer.

Cheers, Jan
View user's profileFind all posts by EnigmaSend private message


Joined: 25 Mar 2013
Posts: 10
Reply with quote
dmitri, looks like your Explorer is much different than mine... and a browser too. And simple copy and paste operation is not for you. So keep your eyes opened and compare this: alekseyka and aaliseyko
You can apologize, I will not mind.

OK. I see your position. sad to hear it, very.

As the last argument: all most popular IDEs is copying files on drag. Do you think that people that use not only PhpEd will thank you for that "common" way? I don't think so.
And i'm the first one.
View user's profileFind all posts by aaliseykoSend private message


Joined: 02 Apr 2013
Posts: 2
Reply with quote
The default MOVE action is very uncomfortable.
I think the solution is a new option in the settings: Default action on drag 'n drop.
View user's profileFind all posts by karmacsigaborSend private message


Joined: 25 Mar 2013
Posts: 10
Reply with quote
It's still movind file and folder on drag by default.

Set/unset "copy vs move" checkbox (at Tools -> Setting -> Misc) have no effects: it's keep MOVE with any state of this option.
View user's profileFind all posts by aaliseykoSend private message


Joined: 25 Mar 2013
Posts: 10
Reply with quote
9039

You are totally ruined it. Now when copying a local folder to a remote, only files transferred, not folder with files.

so if I have remote folder_X, and copy local folder_Y in it. A have filder_X/files.fil instead of folder_X/folder_Y/files.fil
View user's profileFind all posts by aaliseykoSend private message


Joined: 25 Sep 2011
Posts: 2
Reply with quote
I agree that it would be nice to choose whether you want the default to be copy or move. If you're going to compare it to Windows Explorer, Explorer moves if the destination is on the same drive, and copies if it's to a different drive. My thinking would be a remote server would be a 'different' drive, so copy actually makes most sense to me, but having the option to choose would be best since I'm sure not everyone thinks the same way as I do Wink
View user's profileFind all posts by mdewyerSend private message
*resolved* MOVING file to remote sever
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT - 5 Hours  
Page 1 of 2  

  
  
 Reply to topic