NuSphere Forums Forum Index
NuSphere Forums
Reply to topic
[resolved] Remote DBG problems!


Joined: 14 Apr 2006
Posts: 33
Reply with quote
I appear to be so very nearly there....

I have the debugger installed on the server (shows up in phpinfo), the php.ini file is below.

[debugger]
debugger.enabled=on
debugger.profiler_enabled=on
debugger.hosts_allow=localhost
debugger.hosts_deny=ALL
debugger.ports=7869, 10000/16


I am using an SSH tunnel, via PuTTY.

On the server I can telnet as below...

telnet localhost 7869

and the connection appears on the Listener log window, so I presume the SSH tunnel is working fine.

I've ticked the 'Use custom port and host (ssh tunneling) box in Settings, port is set to 7869 and host is set to localhost (tried it as client host too)

It seems that the debugger just isn't detecting the debug request as every time I try and debug it simply doesn't detect the debugger request and shoots straight through and returns the generated web page.

any help would be gratefully recieved... Smile

_________________
Regards

Steve.
View user's profileFind all posts by MGSteveSend private message


Joined: 14 Apr 2006
Posts: 33
Reply with quote
Thought I'd post my DBG Wizard info incase it helps...

* PHP Version: 5.2.6
* Web Server: Apache/2.2.3 (CentOS)
* Server Name: *******
* Platform: Linux glibc-2.5/x86
* Your Client IP Address: 90.193.***.***
* Your Server IP Address: 79.170.***.***
* Port: 80
* Your Web Server and PhpED are on different machines
* Path to website files: /home/****/admin_html/inc/0001/tmp/
* Document Root is: /home/****/admin_html/
* Your PHP.INI file is: /etc/php.ini
* PHP extensions directory is: /usr/lib/php/modules
* DBG (PHP DEBUGGER) Version 3.4.1 is INSTALLED

_________________
Regards

Steve.
View user's profileFind all posts by MGSteveSend private message


Joined: 17 Feb 2008
Posts: 26
Location: Alrewas, UK
Reply with quote
MGSteve wrote:
Thought I'd post my DBG Wizard info incase it helps...

* PHP Version: 5.2.6
* Web Server: Apache/2.2.3 (CentOS)
* Server Name: *******
* Platform: Linux glibc-2.5/x86
* Your Client IP Address: 90.193.***.***
* Your Server IP Address: 79.170.***.***
* Port: 80
* Your Web Server and PhpED are on different machines
* Path to website files: /home/****/admin_html/inc/0001/tmp/
* Document Root is: /home/****/admin_html/
* Your PHP.INI file is: /etc/php.ini
* PHP extensions directory is: /usr/lib/php/modules
* DBG (PHP DEBUGGER) Version 3.4.1 is INSTALLED


This looks to me like the same problem I had. I found out that was because my ISP
wouldn't let me make the appropriate settings on the server.

In practice I find that I rarely need to test on the remote server. I have a local server
set up running Abyss with a mirror of the files and sql settings locally. Once that works
properly then I just upload to the remote server and bob's your uncle.

HTH

Will
View user's profileFind all posts by qbusterSend private messageVisit poster's websiteAIM Address


Joined: 14 Apr 2006
Posts: 33
Reply with quote
qbuster wrote:
MGSteve wrote:
Thought I'd post my DBG Wizard info incase it helps...

* PHP Version: 5.2.6
* Web Server: Apache/2.2.3 (CentOS)
* Server Name: *******
* Platform: Linux glibc-2.5/x86
* Your Client IP Address: 90.193.***.***
* Your Server IP Address: 79.170.***.***
* Port: 80
* Your Web Server and PhpED are on different machines
* Path to website files: /home/****/admin_html/inc/0001/tmp/
* Document Root is: /home/****/admin_html/
* Your PHP.INI file is: /etc/php.ini
* PHP extensions directory is: /usr/lib/php/modules
* DBG (PHP DEBUGGER) Version 3.4.1 is INSTALLED


This looks to me like the same problem I had. I found out that was because my ISP
wouldn't let me make the appropriate settings on the server.

In practice I find that I rarely need to test on the remote server. I have a local server
set up running Abyss with a mirror of the files and sql settings locally. Once that works
properly then I just upload to the remote server and bob's your uncle.

HTH

Will

Well, yeah ideally I do all my debugging locally as well, but there are times where being able to debug remotely when something weird happens. The development and production servers aren't the same platform (win32 & Debian), so there are sometimes a few gltiches to iron out.

Also, the server is a dedicated server, so if anything needs to be done, I can do it myself, I just need to know what to do!

_________________
Regards

Steve.
View user's profileFind all posts by MGSteveSend private message


Joined: 14 Apr 2006
Posts: 33
Reply with quote
c'mon Nusphere, where's the support for this product?

_________________
Regards

Steve.
View user's profileFind all posts by MGSteveSend private message
Veteran

Joined: 06 Jun 2007
Posts: 289
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Reply with quote
For tunnelling to work, port forwarding must be enabled for SSH on your remote server. You can check that this is working fine by executing:
Code:
netstat -na|grep 7869

Your must get a good response such as the following, else the tunnel is not working (and DBG will not work over the tunnel):
Code:
tcp        0      0 127.0.0.1:7869              0.0.0.0:*                   LISTEN
tcp        0      0 ::1:7869                    :::*                        LISTEN


PS: This is a technical forum where we users try help each other solve problems. If you want blistering fast support from Nusphere, you should open a support ticket Wink

_________________
Smile
View user's profileFind all posts by annoSend private messageVisit poster's website


Joined: 14 Apr 2006
Posts: 33
Reply with quote
Thanks for the advice. In the end it worked without needing SSL anyway. Its only used as a last resort, so I won't bother with the SSL.

As for wanting blistering support, sorry I didn't realise that the technical support forums weren't actually monitored by NuSphere. I have had questions answered here before by Nusphere staff.

Anyway I'll know in future to email them instead. Smile

_________________
Regards

Steve.
View user's profileFind all posts by MGSteveSend private message
Site Admin

Joined: 13 Jul 2003
Posts: 8334
Reply with quote
Quote:
As for wanting blistering support

Steve, there is no such thing as support through the forum.

Quote:
I didn't realise that the technical support forums

Sorry, seems you didn't realize that this is not "support" forum.

_________________
The PHP IDE team
View user's profileFind all posts by dmitriSend private messageVisit poster's website
[resolved] Remote DBG problems!
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT - 5 Hours  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Reply to topic