NuSphere Forums Forum Index
NuSphere Forums
Reply to topic
Proplems with PHP sessions

I ran into an issue with debugging and sessions. In order to do some trouble shooting and get things to work I had to use an external browser to debug. I am using Firefox 1.5 on Windows XP and PHP 5.1.1 (local server) latest DBG for 5.1.1. The problem also exists when using the built in browser in PhpEd 4.0.1 build 4048. Have not tried a previous version since I am just getting started with this IDE.

When starting a debug session in a clean browser (just loaded) the DBGSESSID cookie is created but the PHPSESSID is not. Therefore the session variables are not maintained across pages and I get a lot of variable not defined messages because of that. I am auto-starting the session in the PHP.INI file.

If on the other hand, if I open up the same site in the external browser first and then start the debug session all works fine including the session variable and all cookies are created as expected. Debugging then works like a charm.

If someone has any idea how to resolve this I would greatly appreciate it, since using an external browser Can be a pain fro debugging. Also this site works fine under normal circumstances.
Site Admin

Actually neither Debugger nor IDE are involved.
They are not responsible for starting php sessions and would never be.
Please check you php configuration, in particular session.auto_start and session.save_path settings.
View user's profileFind all posts by dmitriSend private messageVisit poster's website

On the windows platform the session.auto_start is set to 1 and session.save_path= / . these are the same settings for when I run it through the IDE as well as when I call it directly. I have added a way to run phpinfo() form my application to make sure things are set up as expected.