NuSphere Forums Forum Index
NuSphere Forums
Reply to topic
Need help connecting to MySQL

Hi

Sorry guys I am very very new to all of this!

I recently purchased NuSphere and am trying to connect to my mysql databases but I do not know where to put my database files so that NuSphere can connect to them.

Secondly, when I attempt to connect to a mysql database that is already in my program files directory I get an error message saying: client does not support protocol requested by server, consider upgrading mysql client. (You need new libMySQL.dll).

But I already have MySql 5.0 installed on my system.

Could you please tell me where I can find the new libMySQL.dll file and what I must do with it? or what I am doing wrong!

Many thanks

Alan
Site Admin

First of all, I can hardly imagine if you could purchase NuSphere Smile, at least without letting me know Smile
Well, probably you're talking about PhpED IDE (it's much cheaper than the first thing..., you know) Smile

There are two clients you might want to have connection to your MySQL v5.
First is the IDE.
By deafault it can't connect to mysql v4.1 or higher as it uses different authentication protocol than supported by libmysql.dll that comes with PhpED. Due to licensing problems we can not ship any newer dlls but you can download a newer or copy them from an existing installation of mysql. Target file to be renewed is c:\program files\nusphere\phped\libmysql.dll

2nd is PHP script(s) that you develop.
Unfortunately, Php 4.4.3 that comes with PhpED 4.6 has _embedded_ libmysql and can not be updated. In other words, it will not work with mysql 4.1 or higher (still the same authentication protocol). As a workaround you can work with PHP5 (5.1.4). It supports mysql 4.1 and 5.0.

Quote:
where to put my database files so that NuSphere can connect to them.