NuSphere Forums Forum Index
NuSphere Forums
Reply to topic
debugging woes


Joined: 14 Jan 2004
Posts: 4
Reply with quote
I thought I had been through the docs well enough, but....

I'm trying to debug against a remote server in a LAN environment.

Project Root is \\remoteserver\directory
Remote URL is set to http://remoteserver/
Remote Root is \\remoteserver\directoy

Debugger works, but spawns an additional editor window with a duplicate of the original. Not a huge problem, but kind of annoying.

What's wrong with my setup?
View user's profileFind all posts by jreedSend private message
Site Admin

Joined: 13 Jul 2003
Posts: 7885
Reply with quote
what phped version do you run ?
View user's profileFind all posts by dmitriSend private messageVisit poster's website


Joined: 14 Jan 2004
Posts: 4
Reply with quote
3.2.1 Build 3239eval

Thanks.
View user's profileFind all posts by jreedSend private message
Site Admin

Joined: 13 Jul 2003
Posts: 7885
Reply with quote
Would you please do the following ?
- exit all the programs including phped, dbglistener and all internet explorers.
- start phped, only
- open your script and click run in debugger just one time
- regardless of what were run, open dbglistener log window and submit to this forum its content.

Thanks.
Dmitri.
View user's profileFind all posts by dmitriSend private messageVisit poster's website


Joined: 14 Jan 2004
Posts: 4
Reply with quote
Per your request:

Code:

1/15/2004 7:01:54 PM  Listener started
1/15/2004 7:01:54 PM  Listener started
1/15/2004 7:02:12 PM  10.1.136.2 client connected


10.1.136.2 is the "remoteserver" as listed in my original post.

I don't know if it helps or not, but editing code in the second (spawned after starting the debug session) window results in a dialog box with the message "File ___________ is externally modified. Reload?" when attempting to change focus to the original window.

Server platform is Apache 1.3.29, php 4.3.4, Win 2000 Server. Client is WinXP Pro.

Thanks again.
View user's profileFind all posts by jreedSend private message
Site Admin

Joined: 13 Jul 2003
Posts: 7885
Reply with quote
I would recommend you try mapped disks instead of pointing to remote server with \\servername\ directly.
Hope this helps.
View user's profileFind all posts by dmitriSend private messageVisit poster's website


Joined: 14 Jan 2004
Posts: 4
Reply with quote
That did the trick.

I was trying to get around the fact that you can set the project root to the root level of a mapped drive (f:\) by instead specifying \\server\share.

Now it's working as well as it does on the linux box. Smile

Nice product by the way, and thanks for the troubleshooting help.
View user's profileFind all posts by jreedSend private message


Joined: 12 Jan 2004
Posts: 5
Reply with quote
dumb question. is there an IE toolbar like with another php editor where we can debug "next page?" this way we can debug user input.

whops. it looks like phped has a built-in browser that we can debug from there. excellent Very Happy
View user's profileFind all posts by zer0fillSend private message
debugging woes
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT - 5 Hours  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Reply to topic