NuSphere Forums Forum Index
NuSphere Forums
Reply to topic
Debugging and Cookies Settings


Joined: 31 Dec 2003
Posts: 29
Reply with quote
Anyone successfully performing multiple debugging to another page or simply within the same page with a PHP_SELF, could you post what your cookies settings are within IE?

Was anxious to buy this software, but with the "bugs" related to not debugging multiple pages, not so sure I want to purchase.

Been told it a cookies settings on my computer, however I store cookies for Internet sites I visit without any problems...?????
View user's profileFind all posts by ndorfnzSend private message
Site Admin

Joined: 13 Jul 2003
Posts: 8334
Reply with quote
Could you post there a sample of two scripts that can't be debugged consequently and therefore exposes an inability to debug multiple pages ?

Thanks in advance.
View user's profileFind all posts by dmitriSend private messageVisit poster's website


Joined: 31 Dec 2003
Posts: 29
Reply with quote
Sorry... hope this is better!

For a live look at what's happening check out. Even when running in nusphere, the "attempt" at debugging (by selecting another value and clicking submit) after it's loaded doesn't even return anything valid based on the results...

http://myserver/races.php

Code:


<form name = "races">

<?

//FIRST TIME PROCESSING THROUGH
if (empty($firstime))
{
echo "<select name=yearsel>";
echo $years_block;
echo "</select>";
echo " and ";
echo "<select name=distancesel>";
echo $distance_block;
echo "</select>";
$firsttime = 1;
}

?>
<!--SUBMIT BUTTON-->

<input type="submit" name="goget" value="Go>>">
<form action="<?$PHP_SELF?>" method ="post">



Are there any other php debuggers I could honestly check out?

Sincerely appreciate your input
View user's profileFind all posts by ndorfnzSend private message
Site Admin

Joined: 13 Jul 2003
Posts: 8334
Reply with quote
Thanks for script posted here.

I got no problem with multiple debugging when tried your script.
Whenever I clicked [GO>>] button it ran next debug session.

Regarding values passed and so forth, you should refer to php manuals to see how php works. What you did won't work and it is obvious to me. On the other hand it falls beyond this forum as the problem with your script has no relation to php debugger DBG nor to the subject of this topic.

I'd recommend you either learn php yourself or ask guys from php.general forums http://news.php.net/group.php?group=php.general
View user's profileFind all posts by dmitriSend private messageVisit poster's website
Site Admin

Joined: 13 Jul 2003
Posts: 8334
Reply with quote
What IDE and what dbg version do you use ?


Last edited by dmitri on Wed Jan 21, 2004 2:53 pm; edited 1 time in total
View user's profileFind all posts by dmitriSend private messageVisit poster's website


Joined: 31 Dec 2003
Posts: 29
Reply with quote
Let's see...

This one:
DBG 2.11.3 zip [333Kb] - Oct 5, 2002 zip'd archieve for Win32 platform.
Contains pre-compiled modules for php 4.0.6, 4.1.0, 4.1.2, 4.2.0, 4.2.1, 4.2.2 and 4.2.3.

with PHP 4.2.3

located at: http://www.php-debugger.com/dbg/downloads.php

Does that answer your question? Hope so!

Appreciate any input on bugs or issues?
View user's profileFind all posts by ndorfnzSend private message
Site Admin

Joined: 13 Jul 2003
Posts: 8334
Reply with quote
2.11.3 is a very old version (more than a year ago).
Upgrade to the most recent one.
View user's profileFind all posts by dmitriSend private messageVisit poster's website


Joined: 31 Dec 2003
Posts: 29
Reply with quote
Which one is the latest? The version numbering is a little confusing?

I see the latest being
Latest free version of DBG
DBG 2.11.23

However, given the 2.11.3 would seem to be the latest by the numbering version?
View user's profileFind all posts by ndorfnzSend private message
Site Admin

Joined: 13 Jul 2003
Posts: 8334
Reply with quote
Of course 2.11.23 is the latest free version , because (23 > 3)
you probably thought of .3 as of .30

If it was the case I would mark it as such. Smile
View user's profileFind all posts by dmitriSend private messageVisit poster's website


Joined: 31 Dec 2003
Posts: 29
Reply with quote
Okay!! Got it to display now in phpinfo()

It didn't work originally until I installed Apache as a service... interestingly enough.

What I was used to is the DBG Debugger that would step through code, etc. I believe the filename was simply SE.exe?

Is this still available for the latest release. Just want the simple debugger to debug php code.

Thanks for your patience and assistance!
View user's profileFind all posts by ndorfnzSend private message
Site Admin

Joined: 13 Jul 2003
Posts: 8334
Reply with quote
No, SE project has been discontinued.
All the sources are merged into PHPED. Welcome to the new IDE.
View user's profileFind all posts by dmitriSend private messageVisit poster's website


Joined: 31 Dec 2003
Posts: 29
Reply with quote
Huh! What's the purpose to the other stuff then?

Back to PHPED...

I have it working, however can you debug this below script and watch the value of $goget.

After stepping through and clicking the submit button thus debugging again... I am anticipating I can see the value of $goget in the watch window, however it DOES NOT merely becomes undefined.

Code:

<?php

phpinfo();
echo "hello";
?>
<form name = "races">

<input type="submit" name="goget" value="Go>>">
<form action="<?$_SERVER['PHP_SELF'];?>" method ="post">
<?

echo "debugging!"

?>
View user's profileFind all posts by ndorfnzSend private message
Debugging and Cookies Settings
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT - 5 Hours  
Page 1 of 2  

  
  
 Reply to topic