NuSphere Forums Forum Index
NuSphere Forums
Reply to topic
css path problem with SRV, external IE9, and strict doctype

Hi All,
I have been running the PhpED IDE for 5 years, now, and it is the only one for me! (currently v 8.0 build 8032)
It has been working a treat. Edit, develop, debug with SRV on a local Windows 7 pc, then upload to the company intranet server, and make it available to the company - to be browsed with IE, Firefox, Chrome, Android Tablets, all the while being able to continue local development on my PC, and even debug the live one if needed. Fantastic. Just what PhpED was made for. But then I needed a :hover feature that IE 7, 8, 9 will only do in Strict doctype mode.

So I changed the DOCTYPE heading from transitional to strict, which broke all my css (the css files could not be found). Reducing it, I ended up with this minimum program which no longer works.

Code:
<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/strict.dtd">
<html>
    <head>
        <link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="/js-css/pipe.css">
    </head>
    <body>
        <div class="titlebar">
            PIPE Home
        </div>
    </body>
</html>

This is meant to find a stylesheet to resolve the 'titlebar' class in the /jss-css folder off the main doc root.
With the combination of: SRV (local debug), PLUS external IE browser, PLUS strict doctype, it fails to find the css file to style the titlebar (or anything else in the real programs).
If I relax the doctype, OR if I use any other external browser (FF, Opera, Chrome), OR if I run it on the main apache2 server it finds the stylesheet, and works as required.
I wondered if I could add a specific absolute path to the css file, but I can't find one that works (eg href="http://localhost:8080/js-css/pipe.css"), whereas href="http://pipe.pi/js-css/pipe.css" DOES work above, although it fetches it from the production server (pipe.pi) and not the development pc, localhost.