NuSphere Forums Forum Index
NuSphere Forums
Reply to topic
Constantly scanning?


Joined: 26 May 2007
Posts: 15
Reply with quote
I just installed phpEd 5.8 and am working on a project which has a root of a networked drive.

I have the project active and am editing it, but in the bottom left it is flashing "Scanning (project name) project for parsing, mode=1"

It is VERY annoying and constantly using the CPU. Any idea what's going on?
View user's profileFind all posts by Kaitlyn2004Send private message


Joined: 23 Aug 2005
Posts: 53
Reply with quote
Same problem here. I'm now downloading the 5814 and see if it is better then the 5812 i currently have.
View user's profileFind all posts by stappelSend private message


Joined: 26 May 2007
Posts: 15
Reply with quote
Let me know if this solves the problem for you!
View user's profileFind all posts by Kaitlyn2004Send private message
Site Admin

Joined: 13 Jul 2003
Posts: 8334
Reply with quote
When the IDE opens the project for the first time, it has to build up Code Insight database. Depending on the disk performance and number of files, it may take from a few seconds up to some minutes. The worse case is project tree on the networked drive in combination with single-core CPU. IDE is fast enough to parse ~ 200-300 files in 1 second or about under 1.8GHz CPU, but networking drives can hardly provide files with this speed. Anyway, after the Code Insight database is initially built, it will be stored and re-used, no further problems are expected after that.
On the other hand, I'd recommend you to contact nusphere support and we'll check if there is anything to be improved.

_________________
The PHP IDE team
View user's profileFind all posts by dmitriSend private messageVisit poster's website
How I resolved this issue on Nusphere 5.8 (build 5814)


Joined: 20 Jun 2007
Posts: 9
Reply with quote
I was having the exact same problem, I let phpEd scan run it's scan for over an hour just to see if it would make a difference (it didn't). The Fix for me was changing the mapped network drive to a full unc path - instant happiness!

Code:

Previous Setup (continuous scanning)
     Project->root directory = z:\
     Mapping->Remote root directory = z:\


Current Setup (working fine)
     Project->root directory = \\<servername>\e$\website\app\intranet
     Mapping->Remote root directory = \\<servername>\e$\website\app\intranet

Current Setup (even better)
     Project->root directory = \\<servername>\e$\website\app
     Mapping->Remote root directory = \\<servername>\e$\website\app\intranet


[ note: My project is only 300+ files total, so size should not have been an issue here ]

Hope that helps someone else,

Steve
View user's profileFind all posts by SteveGrahamSend private message


Joined: 30 May 2008
Posts: 2
Reply with quote
Thanks Steve,
Worked like a charm.
View user's profileFind all posts by oridanSend private message


Joined: 23 Aug 2005
Posts: 53
Reply with quote
oridan wrote:
Thanks Steve,
Worked like a charm.

build 5816 has a fix for it also. no need to change your setup then.
View user's profileFind all posts by stappelSend private message
Site Admin

Joined: 13 Jul 2003
Posts: 8334
Reply with quote
Quote:
build 5816 has a fix for it also


You're right.

Quote:
Mapping->Remote root directory = \\<servername>\e$\website\app\intranet


It's correct only if you're using local Apache.
I'd highly recommend not to "guess & try" Mapping->Remote root directory, please use Project Settings Wizard instead.

_________________
The PHP IDE team
View user's profileFind all posts by dmitriSend private messageVisit poster's website
Constantly scanning?
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT - 5 Hours  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Reply to topic