NuSphere Forums Forum Index
NuSphere Forums
Reply to topic
Can't get parameters


Joined: 12 Sep 2003
Posts: 7
Location: Germany
Reply with quote
Hi,

I am in phpEd debugger output window after running main script. When I click on a link with index.php?impl=write the debugger starts in index.php. But my parameter impl=write in undefined. After this did not work I tried adding a parameter "tmpl, value 'write' and GET" but it is still not set.

How do I get this to work?

_________________
Chris Peto
View user's profileFind all posts by ChrisPetoSend private message
Site Admin

Joined: 13 Jul 2003
Posts: 8334
Reply with quote
Please tell how do you recognize that the passed parameter is not defined ? Can you show a script ?
May be you forgot about register_globals issue ?
View user's profileFind all posts by dmitriSend private messageVisit poster's website


Joined: 12 Sep 2003
Posts: 7
Location: Germany
Reply with quote
I see that the parameters are in the LOCAL $_GET['tmpl']. Is it better to use this when debugging? It seems in actuall use on my webserver the $tmpt is already set when the file starts, without me intializing it with $_GET.

P.S. Bear with me I am a newbie. Plus, I did not find register_globals, where should I call it and what does it do?

_________________
Chris Peto
View user's profileFind all posts by ChrisPetoSend private message
Site Admin

Joined: 13 Jul 2003
Posts: 8334
Reply with quote
aha, I see...
please read register_globals issue first:
http://www.php.net/register_globals
View user's profileFind all posts by dmitriSend private messageVisit poster's website


Joined: 12 Sep 2003
Posts: 7
Location: Germany
Reply with quote
Just read it and set it too On. Works now! Thanks alot. Smile

_________________
Chris Peto
View user's profileFind all posts by ChrisPetoSend private message


Joined: 12 Sep 2003
Posts: 7
Location: Germany
Reply with quote
But I still don't understand. It is parameter to my script plus maybe form data. Nothing else. Why do I need all the other globals? What is the best way to initialize my passed variable without globals?

_________________
Chris Peto
View user's profileFind all posts by ChrisPetoSend private message
Site Admin

Joined: 13 Jul 2003
Posts: 8334
Reply with quote
not globals but superglobals, like $_GET and $_POST
Please read the manual carefully and may be
http://forums.devshed.com/t38817/s.html

Anyway, all these have no relation to DBG functionality and DBG has proven its great work.
View user's profileFind all posts by dmitriSend private messageVisit poster's website


Joined: 12 Sep 2003
Posts: 7
Location: Germany
Reply with quote
Oh, yes that is why I bought PHPEd. It is much better than Zend!

_________________
Chris Peto
View user's profileFind all posts by ChrisPetoSend private message
Can't get parameters
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT - 5 Hours  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Reply to topic